Bucharest Romania History

The Roman province of Dacia, today Romania, and the countries in the south that include the Transylvanian Basin were Roman provinces or "Dacia." The formation of the "Romanian people" and its continuity took place under the protection of a Carpathian arch and were therefore limited to Transylvania. Romania's capital is also the most important city in the country of Wallachia, which gives Bucharest a fascinating past that dates back to the time when the Geto (Dacian) population settled in the area. The Romans ruled only half of the country, but more than a hundred, beginning with the 2nd century.

The remains of human settlements from the Paleolithic period are located in the present area of the "Romanian capital," and already in 70 BC the Getae tribe inhabited the area in which Bucharest is located, near the present city centre. Historians agree that the actual city of Bucharest was founded in the Middle Ages, but there is no documentary evidence of the city until the 15th century. The first reliable written evidence of Book Romania dates back to 1459, when the Wallachian ruler Vlad Tepes exempted the citadel from tax.

Bucharest became the capital of Romania after the fall of the Ottoman Empire in the late 14th and early 15th centuries, with the help of a series of political reforms.

After the end of the First World War, Transylvania, Bukovina and Bessarabia (also known as the now often forgotten Republic of Moldova) were annexed to Romania in 1918. In the summer of 1940, Romania gave in to German pressure and transferred all of Bistrii and parts of Bukovina to the Soviet Union and Bulgaria. When the insidious USSR occupied the Moldovan territories during World War II, they were taken from Romania, but the territory remained what was called Old Romania, and the Romanian kingdom was united with the rest of the former Ottoman Empire, leading to what is known as Greater Romania; these territories remain what is called "Old Romania." By the end of October 1944, the Germans and Hungarians had driven all but a small part of the Romanian population and most of the ethnic minorities out of the areas of Transylvania, which was again part of Romania.

The Soviet forces attacked completely unprepared on 20 August and had also conquered parts of old Romania and Moldova in the spring.

Bucharest became the capital of the new nation when Wallachia and Moldova united in 1861 to form the Principality of Romania, but began to compete with the Targovists for the capital of the regions. In 1881, Bucharest became the capital of the newly proclaimed Kingdom of Bulgaria, the first state to be declared the "Kingdom of Romania" in 1882. When Wallachia became the states, it became a nation - capital again in 1889, and again when it united with Wallonia and Moldova to form Principal Romania. After the war Romania's second largest city and capital (with 1.2 million inhabitants) became its capital and during the Second World War it decided to side with the German Axis power and became the "capital" of Greater Romania according to the Paris Treaty.

The Templul Coral Choir Synagogue was built in Bucharest and was the first of its kind in Romania and one of the world, built in Gothic style.

The palace, located in Bucharest, began at the end of the 19th century and was the first of its kind in Romania and the second in Europe. The palace was undoubtedly the largest and most expensive building of its time and one of the most important buildings in Romania.

In 1862 it became the capital of Romania, in 1882 electricity was introduced and in 1906 the city hosted the great exhibition Romania and the World. At the end of December 1977, the Museum of the History of Jews in Romania was opened in Bucharest. Romanian peasant, containing artifacts detailing the life and times of one of the most important Jews in Europe, Romania's first Jews. It is a centre of Romanian media, culture and art and hosts the annual Romanian Film Festival and the Romanian National Museum.

Romanian archaeological ensembles, of which the Dridu culture is the first, which includes the whole of Greater Romania and which has been included on the UNESCO World Heritage List of the most important archaeological sites in the world. Romania was considered lost for some years, but reappeared in the Middle Ages as part of Moldova and Wallachia. The original Romania includes the city of Bucharest as well as the cities of Cluj - Napoca, Bihor, Iați, Côte d'Ivoire, Piatra Neagrada and Istituto, among others.

The Romanians spread throughout the country in a long process that began in the sixth century and continued into the fourteenth century. In the 14th century Radu Negru (1310 - 1352) united the Romanians and formed the first "Romanian Principality" in Wallachia. In 1859, Prince Alexander Cuza was elected ruler of a united Moldova and Wallachia. Three years later, the countries were renamed Romania, then Romania and then Romania.

More About Bucharest

More About Bucharest